Let’s Talk Bookish: It’s Time for a Change

I think that every person has a moment in life when they’re ready to let go of something that once meant a lot to them, and start over with something new.

I’ve reached that moment.

And that’s why I’ve decided that it’s time for my role with Let’s Talk Bookish to end.

I have not been a good host for LTB in a long time – pretty much since the summer of last year. I told myself with each passing Friday that I failed to participate that the next week, I would do better.

I did not do better.

LTB became a source of shame for me and as the months dragged on, that shame intensified and contributed to my growing resentment and apathy towards my blog. I wouldn’t blog at all partly because I didn’t have the time, the mental capacity, or the creativity to do so, but also because it made me feel so guilty to write much about anything else when I was neglecting the one responsibility that I needed to maintain.

I always tried to come back, always apologized, always said I’d do better, and then proceeded not to and disappear again into that feeling of shame.

Well, I’ve decided that no more. If I can’t find it in me to be responsible for LTB and to be a good, consistent host for it, then it’s time that I let it go. It’s not fair to those who love and participate in LTB to have a person who doesn’t feel excited or passionate about it be running the show. You all deserve so much more from a host.

However, just because I’ve decided to step back from LTB doesn’t mean that LTB has to come to an end.

I reached out to someone who has been participating in LTB almost since when LTB first started, and has been a long-standing participant ever since. I knew her from when she first started blogging, back in good old 2019 and she’s always been such a wonderful and kind person. She’s offered her assistance with LTB before and has helped me catch some mistakes I made here and there.

I’m forever grateful for her support all these years, and that’s why I’m so happy to announce that Let’s Talk Bookish will be finding a new home with her: Aria @ Book Nook Bits.

Aria will be the new host for LTB, and she’ll be running the meme starting today, with the announcement of May 2022’s LTB topics. I would like to say that this was a very unplanned situation, and it’s completely coincidental that this is all happening right before the very first Friday of April. But honestly, it couldn’t have been better timing.

You’ll be able to find the discussions and link-ups on her blog starting this Friday and she’ll also be managing her own archive for LTB topics. The current archive (from August 2019 to April 2022) on my blog will remain available, but I will no longer be updating it with topics for future months. The header images will also be changing to reflect that Aria is now the new host (and guys? those headers are gorgeous).

Be sure to check out her introduction post + the topics for May 2022 on her blog, and please do show her some love! I know she’s going to be an amazing host, and that LTB will do well under her care.

book stack with a steaming tea cup on top surrounded by swirls divider

I’m honestly so relieved that I’ve decided to take this step. I may have been the one to first come up with the idea for LTB and been the one to host it, but that doesn’t mean that I have to be in charge of it forever.

I won’t lie, it’s kind of sad since Younger Me was so very passionate about having her own meme and running it, and I can see for myself how that passion died over time. I’ve now reached a point where I’m not just ready to give LTB up, I’m relieved that it’s no longer my responsibility.

And that relief also stems from the fact that I know that LTB will be in very good hands with Aria.

I would to thank Dani @ Literary Lion for being my cohost since May of 2020. It’s been a long while, and honestly, LTB might not have lasted this long if it hadn’t been for her. So thank you, Dani, I’m so grateful for your support during these years ❀️

I would also like to thank everyone who has ever participated in Let’s Talk Bookish, either by writing a discussion or suggesting a topic, for sharing the vision that I had for this meme.

For being patient when I fell behind.

For being so kind and understanding through everything.

You all mean the world, and I thank you so much for being with me during this journey. πŸ’•

Until next time,

33 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Bookish: It’s Time for a Change

  1. This is the first time I’ve visited your blog (it’s been a rough couple of years for me & hopping), but I’ve seen this amazing thing you started all over blogs that I follow. I think one of the hardest things to do is to step back from something when it no longer fits for you, and I commend you for taking the step. I wish you nothing but the best with your future projects and look forward to following you moving forward!

    Like

  2. I’ve always loved reading the responses to Let’s Talk Bookish, and you should be proud of what you achieved in generating discussion and creating a community! But I can relate to the need to step back. It takes strength to let go of something that you worked hard on for so long, and I think you should be proud of passing it on, too!

    Like

  3. You created such an amazing little community with this fortnightly blogging event. I know what it’s like to miss deadlines and feel like you’re letting people down. BUT, you should be so proud of everything you achieved!! xx

    Like

  4. Completely understandable that you can no longer host it, but thank you for hosting it for so long! I haven’t always participated but I’ve always enjoyed it when I have – and I’m looking forward to Aria hosting it, and I’m glad its not going away completely πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah Rukky! Thank you so much for creating and hosting one of my favorite things to take part of in the bookish community, even if I’ve only done it for a little over a year. I appreciate all of the great work you’ve put in and I’m so proud of you for recognizing what you need and taking the steps to make it happen. πŸ–€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You have to do what’s right for you and I don’t think anyone would fault you for that. Thank you for starting the meme in the first place, and maintaining the archive of topics. Wishing you all the best moving forward into whatever your passions develop into next! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m sorry you feel you have to step back but at the same time it’s great LTB found new home as I loved reading all discussion topics. They are like inspiration to write something other than reviews and recommendations. I’m definitely checking Aria’s blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hey, Rukky! I know how you feel. Years ago I created a meme I called “Motivation am Mittwoch” (Motivation on Wednesday) which was about writing messages of inspiration and motivation and also finding the perfect picture for it. I liked doing it but over time it just got harder and harder to keep up with it and when I changed my blog from German to English I stopped. I still feel kinda guilty sometimes, because I didn’t stick with it and especially because there seems to be one or two people who still visit those posts every week. But in the end, it was better for myself to stop it because I’m pretty sure I would have started to resent my blog. And blogging is something that I genuinly like, no matter how long the breaks are that I sometimes take or how low my stats are.
    Don’t be sorry about giving it up. Maybe you still feel like taking part without the pressure every once in a while. Maybe you’ll randomly see a topic, that you feel passionate about. I know that Aria is super excited to take over and I know your creation is gonna be in good hands. Thank you for inventing it and for keeping it up for so long. You did good.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s sad that Let’s Talk Bookish isn’t bringing the same enjoyment to you as it did before, but it’s good to know that you’ve found a good ‘home’ for it. Hopefully, passing this on will lead to you becoming more enthusiastic about blogging again πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.