Queen of the Tiles by Hanna Alkaf – Anticipated Reads of 2022 // muslim MC solving a mystery

I desperately want this book.

I want it so badly 😭

Words can not describe my sheer need for this.

Young Adult, Mystery, Muslim-Rep, Malaysian-Rep

Queen of the Tiles
by Hanna Alkaf

They Wish They Were Us meets The Queen’s Gambit in the world of competitive Scrabble when a teen girl is forced to investigate the mysterious death of her best friend a year after the fact when her Instagram comes back to life with cryptic posts and messages.

CATALYST
13 points
noun: a person or thing that precipitates an event or change

When Najwa Bakri walks into her first Scrabble competition since her best friend’s death, it’s with the intention to heal and move on with her life. Perhaps it wasn’t the best idea to choose the very same competition where said best friend, Trina Low, died. It might be even though Najwa’s trying to change, she’s not ready to give up Trina just yet.

But the same can’t be said for all the other competitors. With Trina, the Scrabble Queen herself, gone, the throne is empty, and her friends are eager to be the next reigning champion. All’s fair in love and Scrabble, but all bets are off when Trina’s formerly inactive Instagram starts posting again, with cryptic messages suggesting that maybe Trina’s death wasn’t as straightforward as everyone thought. And maybe someone at the competition had something to do with it.

As secrets are revealed and the true colors of her friends are shown, it’s up to Najwa to find out who’s behind these mysterious posts—not just to save Trina’s memory, but to save herself.

Expected Publication: April 19, 2022

A Muslim girl.

Solving a potential murder mystery.

Not just any potential murder mystery, but one surrounding her best friend’s death.

*incomprehensible screaming*

Y’all, I am a mystery geek. I love whodunits, I love thrillers, and one thing that I’ve always wanted ever since I started reading the genre almost 7 years ago was a Muslim girl solving the mystery.

Adult mystery books are honestly not that diverse; I’ve only seen them starting to have non-white main characters in recent years, so I never got much representation with that in any way (besides the MC being a woman). And I’m not a huge fan of the YA mystery scene because it tends to be highschool related, which was too much drama for my liking. But I have read a couple of those and enjoyed them.

But this! This is the first time ever that I’m finding a female Muslim MC solving a mystery, AND I AM SO HERE FOR IT.

Also, can we please talk about how beautiful that cover is? It’s absolutely gorgeous I love it so much 🥺

April has never seemed so far away. At least I can use this to get through the next semester, because I’ll hopefully get to have this amazing book and enjoy it as the semester comes to an end.

And hopefully, hopefully it won’t disappoint.

Some questions for you:

  • Have you heard of Queen of the Tiles? Are you looking forward to reading it?
  • Have you ever come across a mystery book with a Muslim main character?
  • What’s a book you can’t wait to read this year?

Talk to me in the comments below!

February 2022 – Let’s Talk Bookish

Hello friends, welcome back! Today, I’m sharing the topics for February 2022.

My apologies for this post being late. I was not prepared and couldn’t get it out in time. Hopefully this is a one time occurrence, and the topics for March will be on time as usual.

I have yet to update the LTB page with all the links for November/December’s topics since I’ve been MIA for a while, but I will get to that soon. I will also add January and February’s topics once I get the chance.

In case you’re new to this meme:

Let’s Talk Bookish is a weekly meme hosted by me and Dani @ Literary Lion where we discuss certain topics, share our opinions, and spread the love by visiting each other’s posts. Join in on this meme by writing your own discussion on the topic, and sharing your link using the inLinkz that will be available on Dani’s blog each Friday.

We’ve got four awesome topics, all brought to us by wonderful bloggers in the community, so thank you very much to them. If you’d like to share a topic, you can do so using the Google Form that will be available below.

Without further ado, let’s get started!

Continue reading “February 2022 – Let’s Talk Bookish”

Summary of 2021 Reading + 2022 Reading Goals – Let’s Talk Bookish

So, a very funny thing happened.

It’s not actually really funny, but you know, it sounds better when I say that a funny thing happened.

I dropped off the face of the blogging realm right before finals started, and stayed off the face of the blogging realm until today. Kind of almost a month and a half of complete radio silence.

I think that’s the longest ever that I’ve gone without posting something on here. Usually there’s at least one post, like sharing the topics for LTB, or something I’d prepared long beforehand, that makes sure my blog isn’t completely dead for too long.

And now I’m back, determined to do something about this…three days before the start of the Spring semester. When I had an entire month of winter break, I didn’t do anything. It’s not until three days before the semester that I finally decide to do something.

You guys. My brain constantly baffles me.

I don’t know what the future of this blog is going to be, and I am writing a post trying to figure out that future if there is going to be one. But for now, I’m just here to talk about my reading goals for 2022.

Let’s Talk Bookish is a weekly meme hosted by me and Dani @ Literary Lion where we discuss certain topics, share our opinions, and spread the love by visiting each other’s posts. Today’s topic is 2022 reading goals. Join in on this meme by writing your own discussion on the topic, and sharing your link using the inLinkz available here.

Without further ado, let’s get started!

Continue reading “Summary of 2021 Reading + 2022 Reading Goals – Let’s Talk Bookish”

January 2022 – Let’s Talk Bookish

Afternoon friends, welcome back! Today, Dani and I are sharing the topics for January 2022.

I can’t believe we’re planning for January; another year has already gone by, both too slow and fast at the same time. 2021 wasn’t entirely horrible, it even had its bright spots at times, so here’s to hoping that the next year will continue to be better. i’m never going to forget the hopes we had for 2020 and the ensuing catastrophe that happened instead, so I wish for a better 2022 with a very very healthy dose of skepticism.

In case you’re new to this meme:

Let’s Talk Bookish is a weekly meme hosted by me and Dani @ Literary Lion where we discuss certain topics, share our opinions, and spread the love by visiting each other’s posts. Join in on this meme by writing your own discussion on the topic, and sharing your link using the inLinkz that will be available on Dani’s blog each Friday.

We’ve got four awesome topics, two of which were brought to us by Jillian and Fives, so thank you very much to them. If you’d like to share a topic, you can do so using the Google Form that will be available below.

Without further ado, let’s get started!

Continue reading “January 2022 – Let’s Talk Bookish”

What Really Makes a Blog Hiatus – Let’s Talk Bookish

Hello, hello, welcome back to the blog! I hope you’re having a lovely day, and if not, that the day will get better ❤

I am so ready for this break, and can’t wait to just do absolutely nothing. I’m purposefully not making any plans so I don’t put pressure on myself and then be disappointed when I don’t follow through. I’m taking this break as it goes, and we’ll see if anything comes out of it blogging or reading wise.

Despite me not making plans, I still kind of want to do a reading update. I haven’t done one in a while, and I’ve been feeling a little slump-y and need some recommendations, so maybe a post talking about all that will come next week.

Maybe.

I’d appreciate any recommendations you may have now though!

In other news, I’ve updated the Let’s Talk Bookish page to include this month and next month’s topics, so you can head here to check them all out. And well, it is Friday, so we’ve got another topic to discuss today.

Let’s Talk Bookish is a weekly meme hosted by me and Dani @ Literary Lion where we discuss certain topics, share our opinions, and spread the love by visiting each other’s posts. Today’s topic is about blog hiatuses. Join in on this meme by writing your own discussion on the topic, and sharing your link using the inLinkz available here.

Without further ado, let’s get started!

Continue reading “What Really Makes a Blog Hiatus – Let’s Talk Bookish”