June 2021 – Let’s Talk Bookish

Buenos dias, friends! Welcome back to the blog. Today, we’re sharing the LTB topics for June. We decided to post the topics about 3 weeks before the start of the month so that if you’d like to plan or pre-schedule your posts, you can have the topics available early enough.

Let’s Talk Bookish is a weekly meme hosted by me and Dani @ Literary Lion, where we discuss certain topics, share our opinions, and spread the love by visiting each other’s posts.

Many thanks to Jillian and Krupali for suggesting the topics that we’re using this month. If you’d like to suggest a topic, you can do so using this form. We’d also love to hear your feedback on LTB, so if you haven’t already, share your thoughts using this form.

Without further ado, let’s get started!

June 4: Why Do People Lie About Reading Books? (suggested by Jillian @ Jillian the Bookish Butterfly)

Prompts: Some people will say they have read books when they really haven’t; why do you think that is? Have you ever personally lied about reading a book? How do you feel about people who lie about reading books? Do you think there’s a certain type of book people are more likely to lie about reading?


June 11: “I’m Not Like Other Girls” Trope (Dani)

Prompts: How do you feel about the “I’m Not Like Other Girls” trope in general? Have you ever seen the trope done well? Did you ever think you were “not like other girls” OR think that a girl you know wasn’t “like other girls”? Why do you think this trope became so popular? Do you think this trope can be damaging?


June 18: Appreciation for Book Bloggers (Rukky)

Prompts: Do you feel appreciated as a book blogger? Who do you think appreciates the work of book bloggers the most? Do you think that bookish social media is aiding in the depreciation of book bloggers or is it supporting them? Is it wrong to want compensation from the book industry for our work?


June 25: Good Covers vs. Good Plots (suggested by Krupali @ Musings of Souls)

Prompts: When you pick books to buy, what is more likely to sway you: a good cover or a good plot? When you choose to unhaul books do you sometimes keep bad books if they’re pretty? Do you love a book less if the cover is ugly even if the story is good? Do you like covers less if it turns out the story inside isn’t very interesting? Would you rather have a shelf of good stories or beautiful covers?

We’re always accepting topics, so share any suggestions that you might have using the google form below!

A quick announcement: we’re going to be using InLinkz from now on to do the linkup. However, because I’m on WordPress.com, I can’t have it embedded in my posts, so the linkups will be happening on Dani’s blog instead.

This way, y’all can put your links in by yourselves and I won’t be accidentally missing any posts because of pingback issues. You’ll still be able to see other posts of course so you can bloghop. Hopefully this will make the process a lot easier for everyone.

Tomorrow’s topic is about why you continue to read Middle Grade (MG) & Young Adult (YA) books and I do have a few cents to share about that since I’ve become an MG reader.

So, I guess I’ll see y’all tomorrow.

Until next time,

27 thoughts on “June 2021 – Let’s Talk Bookish

  1. Pingback: Gemini Book Nook
  2. Geez…so many good prompts. First, I haven’t said that I’ve ever read a book when I haven’t, but I understand why some people might. Maybe it’s to impress someone or to fit in with the crowd. Second, I rarely like the “not like other girls” trope because, honestly, no girl is like another and when a book plays on that trope, it diminishes all the other valuable and interesting female characters in the book. Plus, usually it’s done pretty unrealistically. Third, I feel most appreciated as a blogger by my commenters, especially if they give me more ideas of different books to read or disagree with my opinion. I just love to learn different readers’ opinions. Saying that, I definitely think blogging is more of a dying art, which is sad, as so many readers are on social media or Youtube and few actually read blogs anymore. Four, while I do appreciate a good cover, it rarely sways me to buy a book and never sways me to keep a book. I have several books I’m currently unhauling that have gorgeous covers just because I didn’t like the story. However, I am a sucker for old books, and I have kept several old books I had mixed feelings about just because they’re old.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.