Tag Thursday – The Coffee Book Tag

Welcome back everyone to Tag Thursday. It’s been a while since I did this (2 weeks, yikes!) and I’m glad to be doing this again. Tag Thursday is where I scour the internet and all things bookish to find interesting ‘quizzes’ to answer so that you get to know more about me and my blog. However, today’s tag comes from the lovely Umairah @ Sereadipity (go check her out!) and is called The Coffee Book Tag. I am not a coffee drinker (the smell is is awful in my opinion) but I love the prompts, so let’s jump right in!

(1) Black Coffee | Name A Series That’s Tough To Get Into But Has Hardcore Fans:

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. First of all, it’s long. Second of all, it drags. Third of all, I hated it with all my guts. And it has lots of fans – I’m just not one of them.

(2) Peppermint Mocha | Name A Book That Gets More Popular During the Winter or A Festive Time of Year:

The Grift of the Magi by Ally Carter (I just realized that I’ve been spelling it wrong, LOL). It’s been a while since I’ve read this, but I remember it was about someone stealing from a charity, Christmas, and winter. A cozy heist with a family of characters that I’ve grown to love.

(3) Hot Chocolate | What Is Your Favorite Children’s Book?

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. Anne Shirley, can we please be bosom friends?

(4) Double Shot of Espresso | Name A Book That Kept You On the Edge Of Your Seat From Start to Finish:

The Hit (Will Robie #2) by David Baldacci. Will Robie is an assassin for the US and he’s new case is literally red hot. (Warning: There are deaths, and violence/guns are used a lot cause he’s an assassin)

(5) Starbucks | Name A Book You See Everywhere:

King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo. It’s the newest and hottest release on Goodreads right now.

(6) The Hipster Coffee Shop | Give A Book By An Indie Author A Shout Out:

The Sacrifice by Indrajit Garai. A thought provoking collection of three short stories. REVIEW

(7) Oops! I Accidentally Ordered Decaf | Name A Book You Were Expecting More Of:

The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall. This was such a let-down. I was looking for a story with a terrible organization, an unexpected family history, and just lots of action, NOT a ‘heroine’ who runs off to Paris in the middle of the night with a guy who pulled a knife on her literally five minutes earlier without telling her mother or best friend or any soul in the whole universe. Then she gets to Paris and is like: Oh, maybe I should have told Mom. She’s gonna worry. Anyone got a phone?

(8) The Perfect Blend | Name A Book Or Series That Was Both Bitter And Sweet, But Ultimately Satisfying:

Rivals in the City by Y. S. Lee. This is the last book in The Agency Series and I loved it so much. It’s sweet because I’m satisfied with the way the series ended, but bitter because I can not get enough of Mary and James’ ridiculous banter.

(9) Green Tea | Name A Book Or Series That Is Quietly Beautiful:

Honestly, I don’t know. Suggestions are welcome!

(10) Chai Tea | Name a Book Or Place Series That Makes You Dream Of Far Off Places:

Any book that takes place in England awakens the travel bug in me. I really really really really want to visit England someday.

(11) Earl Grey | Name Your Favorite Classic:

Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene. It is a classic, right?

That’s it! I’m Tagging:

Kay | Crystal | Ashley | Meeghan | Mel | Jess | Jo

*If I’ve tagged you and you’ve already done the tag, I’m sorry I missed it but link up in the comments anyway so I can check it out! And you don’t have to do the tag if you don’t want to!

Top Ten Tuesday – Upcoming Releases I’m on the Fence About

Hi friends and welcome to Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme originally created by The Broke and The Bookish, and is now hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl.

Today’s topic is: Upcoming Releases I’m on the Fence About

The books listed are a mix of upcoming releases and books that have already been released.

Let’s get started!

*King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo. So this is already released, and everyone, (I mean everyone) is reading it, or wants to read it, or is singing its praises after reading it. But I’m kind of like a rebel, so a super hyped book isn’t something I’m jumping to read, but I might eventually…

*On the Come Up by Angie Thomas. There was a lot of hype surrounding The Hate U Give and well, I didn’t read it. I’m not sure if I want to read OTCU either.

*You Owe Me a Murder by Eileen Cook. Ehh, sounds OK, but I’m not jumping up and down to get it.

*We Told Six Lies by Victoria Scott. It doesn’t have lots of four/five star reviews, so… I guess I’ll wait for more positive reviews 😆

*Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. Okay, I know – this was published four years ago, but still! I’m not sure if I want to read this or not and if you think I’d love it, let me know. (And based on what people are saying on GR, the characters in this book are also in King of Scars, so I guess reading this first would be better.)


*The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff. This sounds amazing, and I really want to know about female spies during World Ward II. It’s not really mystery, so I’m a little hesitant.

*An Anonymous Girl by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen. This was released last month, and it sounds like a twisted psychological thriller that I might enjoy. However, I keep passing it without adding it to my TBR. (Maybe my brain is trying to tell me that I might not like it?) If you’ve read it, and it’s amazing, let me know!

*Call Me Evie by J.P. Pomare. It is described as: “In this propulsive, twist-filled, and haunting psychological suspense debut perfect for fans of Sharp Objects and Room, a seventeen-year-old girl struggles to remember the role she played on the night her life changed forever. ” Anything compared to a book by Gillian Flynn is something I do NOT want to read. (Why? Well, let’s say that Gone Girl was the most catastrophic thriller I’ve ever read and I’m not about to read anything else by the author.) But the story seems promising, so I might.

*The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald. This originally was on my most anticipated reads list, but I’ve pushed it down to the end of my TBR. Too many other books that seem so much better and I’m not interested in this one that much anymore…

*Beautiful Bad by Annie Ward. First of all, this was hyped by Goodreads and as mentioned previously, I’m a rebel. Second of all, Kendall mentioned that there was huge amount of unnecessary information and a not-so-satisfying ending, so…I’m on the fence with this one.



That’s it for this Tuesday! What books are you guys unsure about? Think I should definitely read any of the above? Let’s chat in the comments!

P.S. What do you think of the new graphics?